City Council Elects Pflugerville Community Development Corp. Board Of Directors

18 Jan 2017


Those picked will be tasked with helping to lure and grow business locally amid a backdrop of brisk municipal growth.

PFLUGERVILLE, TX — A slate of officers and board members were recently appointed to the Pflugerville Community Development Corp., officials said on Wednesday.

The new members were tapped during the body’s Jan. 12 meeting. Each member of the board of directors will serve two-year terms. Officers, on the other hand, serve one-year terms.

“We are thankful to have such incredibly intelligent and experienced residents who have been appointed by the Pflugerville City Council to serve on the PCDC board of directors,” the body’s executive director, Amy Madison, said in a prepared statement. “These citizens volunteer their time and devote great energy and effort to helping shape the future of our great community, and I am truly honored to get the opportunity to work with each of them in this capacity.”

The PCDC is a key component for economic development in Pflugerville, tasked with attracting, retaining and expanding businesses to create new jobs and increase tax revenue to support community development, officials said. Through the PCDC, industry officials are able to provide financial inducements toward luring companies or helping them to expand locally. PCDC funds are derived from 4B money generated from a half-cent of the city’s sales tax revenue, and can be used to construct needed infrastructure such as roads, utilities and drainage projects.

The Pflugerville City Council appointed the seven volunteer board members to serve on the board of directors. Three of these board members, Jeff Thompson, Doug Weiss and Ken Dalfonso, are in the middle of their two-year terms while two of the seven—Jim Swanzy and Ron Agnew—were reappointed this year. There are also two newcomers to the board, A.K. Brewer and Victor Johnson.

Swanzy was elected president of the PCDC Board of Directors, Agnew was elected vice president, Jeff Thompson was elected secretary and Johnson was elected treasurer for 2017, city officials said in a news release.

Doug Weiss, who served as president of the PCDC Board of Directors from January 2014 to December 2015, and vice president in 2016, is serving his fourth term. He was recently elected to the Pflugerville City Council in November 2016.

Board members and officers elected at the Jan. 12 meeting were:

  • Place 1 Victor Johnson (Treasurer) – Term: Jan. 1, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2017 (appointed to an unexpired term);
  • Place 2 A.K. Brewer – Term: Dec. 8, 2016- to Dec. 31, 2018 (appointed to an unexpired term);
  • Place 3 Doug Weiss – Term: Jan. 1, 2016 to Dec. 31, 2017;
  • Place 4 Jim Swanzy (President) – Term: Jan. 1, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2018;
  • Place 5 Ken Dalfonso – Term: Jan. 1, 2016 to Dec. 31, 2017;
  • Place 6 Ron Agnew (Vice President) – Term: Jan. 1, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2018;
  • Place 7 Jeff Thompson (Secretary) – Term: Jan. 1, 2016 to Dec. 31, 2017.

Given the city’s brisk growth, the role of the PCDC is paramount as it relates to throughtful economic development efforts. City officials remind that Pflugerville ranks 12th on MONEY Magazine’s list of Best Places to Live in America in 2016, and as the 11th fastest-growing city in the U.S. among cities with populations of more than 55,000.

The critical work of PCDC members recently came into focus during negotiations with Typhoon Texas operators to build a theme park in the space once occupied by Hawaiian Falls. The latter defaulted on previously agreed-upon city payments, requiring PCDC officials to enter into delicate talks to extricate the operator from its lease while enticing Typhoon Texas to take over the premises.

As a result of those negotiations, Typhoon Texas is now scheduled to open in May. Patch previously covered these developments, including a story from this past December that is accessible by clicking here.

Tony Cantu, Patch Staff, 1/18/17,