Officers, New Board Members Named to Pflugerville Community Development Corporation Board of Directors

17 Jan 2017

Press Release

PFLUGERVILLE, Texas (Jan. 17, 2017)—The Pflugerville Community Development Corporation (PCDC) convened its second board meeting of the year Jan. 12 with a newly appointed PCDC Board of Directors, which serve two-year terms, and elected the board’s officers for 2017. Officers serve one-year terms.

“We are thankful to have such incredibly intelligent and experienced residents who have been appointed by the Pflugerville City Council to serve on the PCDC Board of Directors. These citizens volunteer their time and devote great energy and effort to helping shape the future of our great community, and I am truly honored to get the opportunity to work with each of them in this capacity,” PCDC Executive Director Amy Madison said.

The seven volunteer board members applied and were appointed to serve on the PCDC Board of Directors by the Pflugerville City Council. Three board members, Jeff Thompson, Doug Weiss and Ken Dalfonso, are in the middle of their two-year terms. Two of the seven members, Jim Swanzy and Ron Agnew, were reappointed this year. Two new board members, A.K. Brewer and Victor Johnson, were just appointed for the first time.

At the Jan. 12 meeting, Swanzy was elected president of the PCDC Board of Directors, Agnew was elected vice president, Jeff Thompson was elected secretary and Johnson was elected treasurer for 2017.

Doug Weiss, who served as president of the PCDC Board of Directors from January 2014 to
December 2015, and vice president in 2016, is serving his fourth term. He was recently elected
to the Pflugerville City Council in November 2016.

Board members and officers elected at the Jan. 12 meeting are as follows:

Place 1 Victor Johnson (Treasurer) – Term: Jan. 1, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2017 (appointed to
an unexpired term)
Place 2 A.K. Brewer – Term: Dec. 8, 2016- to Dec. 31, 2018 (appointed to an unexpired
Place 3 Doug Weiss – Term: Jan. 1, 2016 to Dec. 31, 2017
Place 4 Jim Swanzy (President) – Term: Jan. 1, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2018
Place 5 Ken Dalfonso – Term: Jan. 1, 2016 to Dec. 31, 2017
Place 6 Ron Agnew (Vice President) – Term: Jan. 1, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2018
Place 7 Jeff Thompson (Secretary) – Term: Jan. 1, 2016 to Dec. 31, 2017

About the Pflugerville Community Development Corporation

The Pflugerville Community Development Corporation promotes Pflugerville as a desirable place for new businesses to operate. The organization also supports existing businesses by helping to address their needs. PCDC can provide funding for use as an incentive to businesses to begin doing business in Pflugerville. PCDC funds, which are 4B money generated from a halfcent of the city’s sales tax revenue, can also be used to construct needed infrastructure such as roads, utilities and drainage projects. Located 16 miles northeast of Austin and just south of Round Rock, Pflugerville is well-situated in Central Texas. New state highways 45 and 130 and Interstate Highway 35 all offer direct access to other nearby cities and the region’s main airport.