Sixteen Years of Pflugerville Community Development Corporation Board of Directors Past Presidents Gather for Pflugerville History Book

PFLUGERVILLE, Texas (Oct. 26, 2017)—On the “sweet 16” anniversary of the incorporation of
the Pflugerville Community Development Corporation (PCDC,) Executive Director Amy
Madison and the past presidents of the PCDC Board of Directors gathered recently for a photo to
be published in the fourth book by the Pflugerville History Diggers.

This Pflugerville history book, “Images of Modern America: Pflugerville,” is set to be released
by Arcadia Publishing next spring and focuses on the last 50 years since Pflugerville was
incorporated in 1965. The Pflugerville History Diggers include Audrey Dearing, Vernagene
Mott, Lois Shrout and Pamela Stephenson.

During the discussion about the history of the PCDC, Madison decided to invite all of the past
presidents together for a photo to contribute to the Pflugerville history book.

“We appreciate the opportunity the Pflugerville History Diggers provided for PCDC to be
included in their fourth book,” Madison said. “After 16 years in existence, it is notable that all of
the PCDC past board presidents are not only still living in the area, but they’re also still active in
the community. This really speaks to the strength of the leadership that the city council has
appointed to the PCDC board. These are people who are truly committed to Pflugerville.”
The PCDC was formed as a 4B corporation in 2001.

“It’s remarkable to think about how far we have come and how much the business community
has grown,” Madison added. “Without the involvement of this outstanding group of leaders and
community servants, we would not have achieved the great success we have today.”

PCDC past presidents include: John Franklin, Omar Pena, Ron Beyer, Wayne Cooper, Randy
Duncan, Doug Weiss, David Clay, Jim Swanzy (current President). Fred Velarde was not in
attendance. Madison is pictured far left.

About the Pflugerville Community Development Corporation

Pflugerville, Texas, ranks 12th on MONEY Magazine’s list of Best Places to Live in America in
2016, and is the 11th fastest growing city in the U.S. With a population of more than
55,000, Pflugerville is located just minutes north of downtown Austin in the desirable Central
Texas region. State highways 45 and 130 and Interstate Highway 35 offer direct access to other
nearby cities and a quick route to nearby airports. Hometown pride and quality of life are top
priority, with residents enjoying the beautiful LakePflugerville, an elaborate trail system,
shopping areas, new restaurants, and the community’s many parades and festivals.

PCDC is responsible for attracting, retaining and expanding businesses to create new jobs and
increase tax revenue to support community development. PCDC can provide funding for use as
an incentive to companies locate and grow in Pflugerville. PCDC funds, which are 4B money
generated from a half-cent of the city’s sales tax revenue, can also be used to construct needed
infrastructure such as roads, utilities and drainage projects.

*Photo (left to right): PCDC Executive Director Amy Madison, PCDC Board of Directors past
presidents John Franklin, Omar Pena, Ron Beyer, Wayne Cooper, Randy Duncan, Doug Weiss,
David Clay, Jim Swanzy (current board president.) Fred Velarde was not in attendance.

Download full press release here.